Brought to you by NZCity

MENU | NEWS | CHAT | WARRIORS | KIWIS | 24 Mar 2017 | 

Back to the main page
Rugby League News
Rugby League Teams
Rugby League Events
Rugby League Competitions
Rugby League Chat
Rugby League Links

 St George Illawarra
Next Game: The Season has finished
Peta Hiku 'furious' over Packer hit
22 Mar 2017
Penrith NRL player Peta Hiku says he was at first furious over the swinging arm from St George Illawarra prop Russell Packer that fractured his eye-socket.

Penrith winger Peta Hiku admits he was "furious" after a hit from fellow-Kiwis international Russell Packer left with him a fractured eye-socket during the opening round of the NRL season.

However, after speaking for the first time after the incident on Tuesday, Hiku said he had moved on from the hit and didn't believe there was anything personal in the matter.

Penrith officials aired their anger after Packer wasn't charged over the incident, when Hiku was originally expected to miss up to four weeks as a result of the injury.

But he returned early in last week's 14-12 loss to the Sydney Roosters, after spending just one week on the sideline.

"I was a bit furious about missing a couple of games," Hiku said when asked about the lack of punishment dished out to Packer.

"I only played one game back. Missing a few games there I was pretty upset about.

"After the next day it was all settled in and I spoke to the coaches about it and they did whatever they had to do. I couldn't do much about it."

Hiku was hit by a swinging arm in a three-man tackle from Packer in the opening minutes of their round-one loss to St George Illawarra.

He got up and remained on the field following the hit, sporting a massive bump under his right eye.

But the Penrith winger said he didn't believe there was any malice or intent behind the hit.

"They came out with a lot of aggression and I happened to be taking one of our first hit-ups and it got hit clean," he said.

"It was just a big man in the middle coming out to hit one of the wingers, just trying to pin them back there.

"I guess I was just trying to do his job and I was trying to do mine. I was just in the wrong spot."

Hiku missed the majority of last season after he was ruled out with a knee injury in May, and the game against the Dragons was his comeback match.

click here for full story...

Foran poised to make impact for Warriors 
Kieran Foran will make his impact for the Warriors against St George Illawarra from the bench in his first NRL game for nearly 10 months. click here for full story...

Dugan head knock sours Dragons win 
The NRL concussion debate has been reignited after Josh Dugan appeared to be knocked out in St George Illawarra's win over Cronulla. click here for full story...

Dragons on fire in hammering Panthers 
St George-Illawarra have posted the biggest score of the NRL's opening round so far, thrashing Penrith 42-10 at UOW Jubilee Oval on Saturday. click here for full story...

Last Game: The Dragons lost against the Penrith Panthers 26 - 30 at Penrith Stadium, Australia (5066 days ago)  game results here
 St George Illawarra Season 0 Stats (All games)
 Total Games Played 26 
 Away Games 26 
    Away Wins 12 
 Home Games
    Home Wins
 Total Tries: 60 
 Total Goals: 50 
 Total Field Goals:
 Total Points For: 661 
 Total Points Against: 573 
 Leagues the St George Illawarra are in
1999 NRL Country Carnival, 1999 NRL Season, 1999 NRL Finals, 2000 NRL Season, 2001 NRL Pre-Season, 2001 NRL Season, 2001 NRL Finals, 2002 NRL Season, 2002 NRL Finals, 2003 NRL Season,

 Players in 2002
Brent Kite, Craig Stapleton, Gary Mcbride, Jason Hooper, Jason Ryles, Lance Thompson, Lee Hookey, Luke Bailey, Luke Felsch, Mark Gasnier, Mark Riddell, Matt Cooper, Nathan Blacklock, Nathan Tutt, Reece Simmonds, Shane Millard, Shaun Timmins, Trent Barrett, Willie Peters,

 Players in 2001
Amos Roberts, Andrew Bobbin, Andrew Hart, Chris Leikvoll, Colin Ward, Craig Smith, Darren Treacy, Jamie Ainscough, Jamie Fitzgerald, Justin Smith, Kieran Kerr, Paul McGregor, Wade Forrester, Wayne Bartrim,

 Players in 2000
Anthony Mundine, Corey Pearson, Daniel Heckenberg, Lee Murphy, Luke Branighan, Luke Patten, Nathan Brown, Robbie Simpson, Terry Lamey,

 Players in 1999
Brad Mackay, Craig Fitzgibbon, Mark Coyne, Rod Wishart,
Visit our Sponsor
Last Results

Sunday, 11 May, 2003
Penrith 30
St George 26

Sunday, 4 May, 2003
St George 28
Sharks 12

Friday, 25 Apr, 2003
St George 24
Sydney City 20

Saturday, 19 Apr, 2003
St George 24
Canterbury 14

Sunday, 13 Apr, 2003
Eagles 38
St George 12

Saturday, 29 Mar, 2003
Canberra 18
St George 14

Sunday, 23 Mar, 2003
St George 30
Parramatta 28

Saturday, 15 Mar, 2003
Wests Tigers 24
St George 20

Saturday, 21 Sep, 2002
Sharks 40
St George 24

Saturday, 14 Sep, 2002
St George 26
Newcastle 22

Round 10
May 17th - 18th
Pos  Team Name  P
 1   Canberra   16 
 2   Brisbane   14 
 3   Warriors   14 
 4   Sydney City   12 
 5   Melbourne   12 
 6   Newcastle   12 
 7   Penrith   12 
 8   Canterbury   10 
 9   St George   10 
 10   Eagles   8 
 11   Cowboys   8 
 12   Sharks   6 
 13   Wests Tigers   6 
 14   Parramatta   4 
 15   South Sydney   2 
click for full table

Click here to return to the Main Page
[ home ] [ news ] [ teams ] [ events ] [ competitions ] [ chat ] [ links ] [ about ]
This site is not associated with the New Zealand Rugby Football League Inc
© 2017 New Zealand City Ltd